A problem that has plagued the social media giant has finally been solved. Sort of.
For over a decade now, users have been growing their networks with status updates, pictures, and messages with their friends. What happens to all that data when you die? There hasn’t been a good answer, until now.
Facebook has now started giving users the option to assign someone as their “legacy contact” to help manage their page after they have passed. Prior to the legacy contact option, Facebook would simply freeze an account when it learned the user behind it had deceased. This would place the accounts in a form of stasis that proved frustrating to loved ones left to try and make some sense of the locked account.

